Those scam deafness phone calls

I know, I’ve posted about this before.  But after reaching the end of my tether this morning, I’ve discovered something.

It started with an “international” call which I decided, unusually, to answer.  A woman with an Asian accent told me it was about Microsoft Windows.  I laughed, said, “Oh good, another scam”, and cut the call.  Then I got yet another call from an outfit which calls me almost every day, despite my telling them each time not to.  They call from a local number and give a slightly different variant of who they are each time.  That means I can’t report them through TPS because you need the company name.  It’s always to do with deafness, though.  And they always protest when I say it’s a scam.  I tell them I’m TPSed, but it makes no difference.  This morning the male caller was extremely rude when I challenged him.

So I rang my phone provider, KC.  The woman I spoke to had had one of these calls herself!  The number, beginning with 29, is a leased line, she said.  Companies can lease the number and make calls from anywhere in the country which will show up as local.  They go through the phone book and don’t worry about TPS, because they know they can’t be recorded.  She didn’t hold out much hope that KC could do anything about it.

These outfits make a profit or they wouldn’t be in business.  And that means that they manage to dupe lots of people; and in this case it will be mainly elderly people.  I know the government can’t do much about the scammers abroad, but there is surely a way of stopping the thieves here.

Leave a comment